Gallery

A Portion of the Berlin Wall

img_1086
Western Brown Line Stop

On a cold Chicago evening, I waited for a bus at the Western Brown Line public transit hub. I was vaguely aware of the slab of concrete that towered over my shoulder. As I stared down Western Ave shivering, the plaque bearing the name, The Berlin Wall, jumped into focus and I was shocked to realize I was standing in the shadow of history. A portion of the wall was given to Chicago by Germany in 2008.  After 12 1/2 years, Chicago continues to surprise me.

img_1081-2
The Berlin Wall Monument

img_1084-2

One thought on “A Portion of the Berlin Wall

Leave a Reply

